Feeling hopeless!

Hello everybody :slight_smile: I am new to Lyme’s disease. Got lots of questions if somebody can answer them. I went to my doctor a couple of months ago for inflammation. She done a arthiritis panel blood test on me and it all came back good. The next week my joints were so painful and I was having muscle pain too so I went back to my dr. I told her that I had been tick bit a couple of weeks before and showed it to her. She immediately said you have Lyme’s as if it was no big deal and gave me some doxycycline ( 7 days worth ). I took them and began feeling better after the 3rd day. Well on the 6th day I was doing much better but not well and got really worried about 7 days not being enough so I called and ask for more. You would have thought I called and ask for pain pills! Anyway, she called me in 10 more days worth and meloxicam ( Anti-Inflammatory ) med. She told me that even after the meds are all taken that I may have problems for a little bit. For the last 2 weeks I done better - the stomach problems ( has anybody else had stomach problems ? ) So bad that now I am having test ran to find out what is going on! Well, but now here I am again with joint pain, weird little vision problems, muscle aches and on and on!! I just don’t know which way to go? What to do next! I have ask my dr twice now to test me and she says there is not a test! Really? I read where people are being tested! She says insurance won’t pay???

The tests are not very reliable. An informed physician uses the symptoms (along with a test) to make a diagnosis. Everything you have described fits lyme.

A recent study has said that long term antibiotics don’t really work. I know people who would dispute that, but I know my daughter’s doctor put her on a 30 day dose to begin with. She did many months more, but not sure if that helped or not. From what I have read, 30 days is a good place to start.