Alpha-Gal Allergy (In need of support)

Hi Guys,

My name is Allie and I am a sophomore in college. I am studying Mining Engineering. My lyme story is about the same, I was misdiagnosed for a long time (chronic hives, chronic fatigue, depression, etc.) The funny thing is is I had the bullseye rash all over my arm and no one noticed. I was actually treated for ringworm twice. Once I finally got diagnosed with Lyme I thought “thank god I have an answer and can move forward.” But I was so wrong.

I ended up getting something called an alpha-gal allergy from the tick. I cannot eat read meat at all and I get delayed reactions but they are extremely severe. I get hives on every inch of my body and my eyes, lips, and tongue swell up about 3-8 hours after I have eaten something. I have been in the ER (had to use my epi pen) about 4 times, and then I am put on a heart monitor and IV of steroids. I am a huge outdoors person, so my allergist thinks I was likely bitten by two ticks- which apparently makes the alpha-gal allergy worse. So now I have reactions to nearly everything created or having to do with other mammals (i.e. milk, eggs, gelatin etc.) I know this sounds extremely crazy- when I was told this I laughed, but it is something pretty interesting to learn about. Vanderbilt is doing a lot of research on it and has many articles if you are interested!