Igenex testing, what's the deal?

Is igenex testing reliable or not, there are so many different opinions, I can’t find real information

Igenex testing is not reliable in diagnosing Lyme disease. The Western Blot and ELISA tests are the ONLY labs that should be used for diagnosis. If a provider recommends IGenex testing, RUN.

The labs may be accurate, and still not be reliable in diagnosing Lyme disease.

Jerry said:

Hello again.

I see what you mean about the confusion with Ingenex test. I am not an expert and can not say I have been reading reliable info. But what I have seen is CDC had problems with Ingenex test in early 2000s.

I do not know if this is still true. Ingenex test is still considered very reliable. 97% accuracy while CD57 is 55%. And that is why many people have problem with it. Because they do not believe it can be that accurate. But again it is still a recommended test. Just a lot of argument between labs. I wish I could be more help but still fumbling thru it all myself…

I agree with Grumpy. Igenex is highly problematic and has probably resulted in a lot of people receiving long term antibiotic treatment who never had lyme but who may have other conditions that go undiagnosed.

1 Like

I had some positive bands on the IGM and the IGG but my overall results said negative, my naturopath called the a igenex doctor and she said it was negative but I should do a urine test. I can’t afford another test!! I already gave them over a 1000.00$ . I don’t know what to think anymore. I was having symptoms of fibro for over 2 years now , my friend convinced me to get a Lyme test and now I’m more confused then ever.